Yes Tormato

Get email alerts for Yes
161 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $8 (47% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZENG 73794
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 24, 2004
  • Originally Released: 1978
  • Label: Elektra / WEA


  • 1.Future Times
  • 2.Rejoice
  • 3.Don't Kill The Whale
  • 4.Madrigal
  • 5.Release, Release
  • 6.Arriving U.F.O.
  • 7.Circus Of Heaven
  • 8.Onward
  • 9.On The Silent Wings Of Freedom
  • 10.Abilene
  • 11.Money
  • 12.Picasso
  • 13.Some Are Born
  • 14.You Can Be Saved
  • 15.High
  • 16.Days
  • 17.Countryside
  • 18.Everybody's Song

Product Description:

Includes nine bonus tracks.
Yes: Jon Anderson (vocals, 10-string guitar); Steve Howe (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Rick Wakeman (Hammond B-3 organ, Polymoog synthesizer; keyboards); Chris Squire (bass, background vocals); Alan White (vibraphone, drums, crotales, percussion, background vocals).
Recorded at Advision Studios, London, England. Originally released on Atlantic (19202).
Personnel: Steve Howe (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin); Chris Squire (vocals, piano); Rick Wakeman (harpsichord).
Audio Mixer: Brian Kehew.
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Tim Jones.
Recording information: Rak Studios, London, England.
Photographers: Hipgnosis; Glenn A. Baker; Neil Zlozower.
Arrangers: Andrew Pryce Jackman; Rick Wakeman; Yes.
There's no ignoring the fact that TORMATO was Yes' most roundly (and unjustly) ignored recording. For reasons unknown, the album languished in bargain bins for years, despite being substantially less pretentious than some earlier work and much more "progressive" than Yes' later pop crossovers. On many tracks, there seems to be a concerted effort to cut back on the bombast. "Onward" is a simple, piano-based ballad, effectively rendered. "Future Times," "Don't Kill the Whale" and others find Steve Howe delivering some of his most visceral, biting guitar work, interacting nicely with Chris Squire's upper register bass lines. There's lots of carnival-like keyboard work and fanciful imagery (see the striking, harpsichord-driven "Madrigal" and the poignant "Circus of Heaven"), but hell, this is a Yes album. And it all works.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,714
  • UPC: 081227379421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)