Cream Gold (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Cream
19 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.20 Limited Time Only
List Price: $23.99
You Save: $10.79 (45% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  34RDW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 26, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Feel Free
  • 2.N.S.U.
  • 3.Sweet Wine
  • 4.I'm So Glad
  • 5.Strange Brew
  • 6.Sunshine Of Your Love
  • 7.World Of Pain
  • 8.Tales Of Brave Ulysses
  • 9.Swlabr
  • 10.We're Going Wrong
  • 11.White Room
  • 12.Sitting OnTop Of The World
  • 13.Passing The Time
  • 14.Politician
  • 15.Those Were The Days
  • 16.Born Under A Bad Sign
  • 17.Deserted Cities Of The Heart
  • 18.Anyone For Tennis
  • 19.Badge
  • 20.Doing That Scrapyard Thing
  • 21.What A Bringdown

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.N.S.U.
  • 2.Sleepy Time Time
  • 3.Rollin' And Tumblin'
  • 4.Spoonful
  • 5.Crossroads
  • 6.Sunshine Of Your Love
  • 7.I'm So Glad
  • 8.Toad

Product Description:

Personnel: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Jack Bruce (vocals, acoustic guitar, cello, harmonica, piano, organ, bass guitar); Ginger Baker (vocals, drums, percussion); George Harrison (guitar); Felix Pappalardi (viola, trumpet, piano, organ, Mellotron).
Audio Remixer: Adrian Barber.
Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Recording information: Atlantic Studios, NY (07/1966-03/1969); Chalk Farm Studios (07/1966-03/1969); Fillmore West, San Francisco, CA (07/1966-03/1969); IBC Studios, London, England (07/1966-03/1969); Mayfair Studios, London, England (07/1966-03/1969); The Forum, Los Angeles, CA (07/1966-03/1969); Winterland, San Francisco, CA (07/1966-03/1969).
Photographers: Jim Marshall ; Barrie Wentzell; David Redfern; Chuck Stewart.
Arranger: Eric Clapton.
Singer/composer Michael Gira's 1980s band Swans, with their considerable darkness/bleakness quotient, were perhaps the only outfit that could make Joy Division and Leonard Cohen sound practically jolly. Gira's Angels of Light project, however, is another matter entirely. While the Angels' music is still somewhat grim in lyrical content and vocal timbre, the overwhelmingly intense Swans-like approach has largely given way to a bittersweet melodic presentation. The autumnal, reflective tone is enhanced by Gira's neo-folk proteges Akron/Family, who serve as the backing band.
The title THE ANGELS OF LIGHT SING "OTHER PEOPLE" refers not to other songwriters, but rather songs about particular people who've inspired/affected Gira in one way or another. He must know some fascinating characters: "Michael's White Hands" is a tapestry of buzzing, jangling string instruments conveying a chant/rant about a disorienting parallel world, the likes of which the Doors' Jim Morrison used to visit. "To Live Through Someone" has a catchy lilt that recalls British Isles' folk music, and the sweetly sung background vocals provide a welcome contrast to Gira's chilly, yet strangely compassionate, old-hermit-of-the-forest delivery. For those feeling haunted the memory of someone (or some particular time), SING "OTHER PEOPLE" may be an ideal form of musical catharsis.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,915
  • UPC: 602498801468
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)