The Heptones Night Food

Get email alerts for The Heptones
6 ratings
Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $0.39 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  6949D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 2, 2015
  • Originally Released: 2015
  • Label: Imports


  • 1.Country Boy
  • 2.I've Got the Handle
  • 3.Sweet Talkin'
  • 4.Book of Rules
  • 5.Mama Say
  • 6.Deceivers
  • 7.Love Won't Come Easy
  • 8.Fatty Fatty
  • 9.Baby I Need Your Lovin'
  • 10.In the Groove
  • 11.Warden (Got to Get Away)
  • 12.Richard Cory (Aka Richard Khoury)
  • 13.Why Must I
  • 14.Love Me Always (There Ain't Nobody Else)
  • 15.The Best Things in Life Are Free
  • 16.I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)
  • 17.Why Did You Leave
  • 18.Living Up on the Hill
  • 19.Poverty and Misery in the Ghetto
  • 20.Garden of Life (Original Version)
  • 21.Deceivers
  • 22.Fatty Fatty
  • 23.Baby I Need Your Lovin'
  • 24.In the Groove

Product Description:

Following a three-year hiatus that found frontman Leroy Sibbles relocating to Canada, the Heptones reunited in 1976 to make perhaps their most effective bid for broader acceptance. That year, the trio was fortunate enough to hook up with Island, which in the wake of Bob Marley's success was signing a number of reggae acts with an eye toward an international market. The partnership resulted in two strong sets: Party Time and Night Food. While the former supported the trio with rhythms engineered at Lee "Scratch" Perry's legendary Black Ark, the latter captured the group in a series of crisp, clear settings, laid to tape at Harry J.'s studio. Though revisiting old tunes is a common practice in the Jamaican record industry, longtime fans may have been disappointed with the number of Studio One recuts that surfaced on Night Food. Yet while there may have been a lack of fresh material, new takes on compositions originally recorded for Coxsone Dodd are approached with the sort of heart and soul followers had come to expect from the Heptones. Likewise, more recent compositions like "Country Boy," "Book of Rules," and "Mama Say" are given superb readings. Concessions to the mainstream are made by way of occasional string overdubs, which are an unnecessary addition to "Deceivers" and merely a distraction on the playful "Fatty Fatty." In the end, however, the combination of mid-'70s songs and older material presented in a new setting resulted in one of the finest collections of Heptones compositions and performances on a studio set. ~ Nathan Bush

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 38,498
  • UPC: 600753626818
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)