Liam Payne LP1 *

Get email alerts for Liam Payne
Price: $6
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $11.99 (67% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Format:  CD
item number:  6YDS7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 6, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Republic


  • 1.Stack It Up - (featuring A Boogie)
  • 2.Remember
  • 3.Heart Meet Break
  • 4.Hips Don't Lie
  • 5.Tell Your Friends
  • 6.Say It All
  • 7.Rude Hours
  • 8.Live Forever
  • 9.Weekend
  • 10.Both Ways
  • 11.Strip That Down
  • 12.For You (Fifty Shades Freed)
  • 13.Familiar
  • 14.Polaroid
  • 15.Get Low
  • 16.Bedroom Floor
  • 17.All I Want (For Christmas)

Product Description:

Recording information: Circle House Studios, Miami, FL; Deep Cuts, Los Angeles, CA; Elsinore, Denmark; Enemy Doja Calabasas, CA, USA; Hampton Studios, London; Hamptons, London, UK; Jungle City Studios, New York City; London, UK.; Monsters and Strangerz Studio, Sherman Oaks, CA; MXM Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Real World Studios, London; Rokstone Studios, London; Sarm Music Village, London, UK; SARM Studios, London, UK; Sphere Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Stellar House, Venice, Ca.; YRN Factory, Atlanta.
Photographer: Jason Hetherington.
First Zayn, then Harry and Niall, and finally -- nearly four years after the split of U.K. boy band One Direction -- former member Liam Payne unveiled his official full-length debut, 2019's LP1. Under construction since 2017, the set smartly includes all of his previously released hit singles, including the multi-platinum global smash "Strip That Down" with Quavo, which joins fresh material that charts Payne's bittersweet trials with love ("Remember," "Heart Meet Break," "All I Want (For Christmas)"), his robust sex life ("Rude Hours" and "Both Ways"), and a youthful, party-loving lifestyle ("Hips Don't Lie," "Weekend"). Whereas his 1D brethren managed to carve out distinct personalities with their solo albums -- Zayn's brooding R&B epics, Harry's effortless rock star poses, and Niall's wholesome singer/songwriter authenticity -- Payne tackles hip-hop and electronic genres but struggles to distinguish himself from the crop of similar-sounding contemporaries. Without a clear direction, the sleek pop confections on LP1 sound more like a streaming playlist set to shuffle. That's not to say the album is a total loss. Payne works best when he has a vocal foil and, fortunately, there are plenty of guests here. Bronx-bred rapper A Boogie wit da Hoodie contributes a clever verse on the Ed Sheeran-penned "Stack It Up" (which, for better or worse, sounds strikingly similar to "Strip That Down," the other Sheeran contribution), while J Balvin injects pulsing Latin flair with "Familiar." Elsewhere, electronic producers Cheat Codes, Jonas Blue, and Zedd craft uplifting dance anthems on their respective entries, "Live Forever," "Polaroid," and "Get Low." Above all, the album's best track, the gorgeous pop gem "For You," is the gift that keeps on giving. The Fifty Shades Freed single was a hit throughout 2018, boosting both Payne and duet partner Rita Ora, who later bundled it onto her own solo set, Phoenix. Receiving yet another lease on life, it shines just as bright on LP1, overshadowing much of the other material in the process. Front-loaded with mostly forgettable trifles, the album is saved by this bountiful back-end, which plays like an early prediction of a potential greatest-hits collection. If Payne can find a more distinctive vision and a team who can better utilize his strong vocals, he might get a chance for that longevity. For now, LP1 merely hints at his future potential. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 106,372
  • UPC: 602557842166
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)