COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Joe Cocker Gold (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Joe Cocker
MASSIVE CD SALE: $19 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.95
You Save: $0.95 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32EVW
Brand New
Related products:
Blues / Gold (2-CD) for $19.40

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 7, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Feelin' Alright
  • 2.With A Little Help From My Friends
  • 3.Delta Lady
  • 4.She Came In Through The Bathroom Window
  • 5.Something
  • 6.Darling Be Home Soon
  • 7.The Letter [Live]
  • 8.Cry Me A River [Live]
  • 9.High Time We Went
  • 10.Black-Eyed Blues
  • 11.Midnight Rider
  • 12.Put Out The Light
  • 13.I Can Stand A Little Rain
  • 14.You Are So Beautiful
  • 15.I Think It's Gonna Rain Today
  • 16.The Jealous Kind
  • 17.Fun Time
  • 18.I'm So Glad I'm Standing Here Today

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sweet Little Woman
  • 2.Many Rivers To Cross
  • 3.Up Where We Belong
  • 4.Civilized Man
  • 5.Shelter Me
  • 6.You Can Leave Your Hat On
  • 7.Unchain My Heart
  • 8.When The Night Comes
  • 9.Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
  • 10.Night Calls
  • 11.Now That The Magic Has Gone
  • 12.Summer In The City
  • 13.Have A Little Faith In Me
  • 14.Sail Away
  • 15.Tonight
  • 16.First We Take Manhattan
  • 17.You Can't Have My Heart
  • 18.One

Product Description:

Personnel: Joe Cocker (vocals); Jim Price (vocals, trumpet, trombone, brass); Robbie Shakespeare (vocals, bass guitar); Clydie King, Sherlie Matthews, Merry Clayton (vocals, background vocals); Jennifer Warnes, Jimmy Cliff, Matthew Moore, Venetta Fields, Daniel Moore (vocals); Chris Stainton (guitar, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards); Leon Russell (guitar, piano, organ); John Miles (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Clarence White, Cornell Dupree, Phil Grande, Ralph Hammer, David Cohen, Deanie Parker, Dan Sawyer, Eric Gale , Henry McCullough, Michael Hart Thompson , Jay Graydon, Jimmy Page, John Shanks, Michael Landau, Mike Campbell , Mikey Chung, Neil Hubbard, Ray Parker, Jr., Richie Zito, Steve McEwan, Steve Power, Tim Pierce, Barry Reynolds, Cliff Goodwin, Mitch Chakour, Ben Benay (guitar); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Johnny Lee Schell (electric guitar); Sid Page, Peter Kent (violin); Evan Wilson (viola); Suzie Katayama (cello, accordion); Rudy Stein (cello); The Sid Sharp Strings (strings); Don Shelton , Deric Dyer, Mel Collins, Wilton Felder, Bruce Eskovitz (saxophone); Sam Rivers (soprano saxophone); Hank Crawford, Jim Horn (alto saxophone); Clarence Clemons , Gary Brown , David "Fathead" Newman , Trevor Lawrence, Bobby Keys (tenor saxophone); Leroy Cooper (baritone saxophone); Steve Madaio (trumpet, horns); Chris Tedesco , Philip Guilbeau, Marcus Belgrave, Rick Baptist, Wayne Bergeron, Stewart Blumberg, Bill Churchville (trumpet); Mayo Tiana, Nick Lane (trombone); Dick Hyde, Crispin Cioe, Arno Hecht, Robert Funk, Paul Litterall, Joel Peskin, Uptown Horns (horns); Jeff Levine (piano, keyboards); Jamie Muhoberac (piano, synthesizer); Nicky Hopkins, Artie Butler, Peggy Sandvig, Chris Elliott (piano); C.J. Vancston (Fender Rhodes piano, organ, synthesizer); Tommy Eyre (organ); David Paich (Hammond b-3 organ); Joe Sample, Larry Marshall, Patrick Warren, Richard Tee, Wally Badarou (keyboards); Arthur Barrow, Spike Edney (synthesizer); T.M. Stevens (bass guitar); Jim Keltner, Kenny Aronoff , Steve Gadd , Chuck Blackwell (drums, percussion); Michael Baird , Paul Humphries, John "J.R." Robinson , David Beal , Jeremy Stacey, Jim Gordon , Mike Baird, Ndugu, Ollie E. Brown, Steve Holley, Stix Hooper, B.J. Wilson, John Riley , Eric Parker, Jack Bruno, Joe Correro, Bruce Rowland (drums); Bobby Torres (congas); Laudir Soares (maracas, tumba); Starz Vander Lockett, Milt Holland, Andy Duncan, Paulinho Da Costa, Rafael Padilla, Uziah "Sticky" Thompson (percussion); Maxine Green, Alexandra Brown, Curtis King, Mary Bond Davis, Helen Hampton, Virginia Ayers, Julia Tillman Waters, Sunny Weetman, Fred White, Maxine Sharp, Deirdre Tuck Corley, Sydney Davis, Ann Lang, Joey Diggs, Julia Waters, Katie Kissoon, Lamont VanHook, Madeline Bell, Maxine Willard Waters, Patrice Holloway, Rita Coolidge, Tawatha Agee, Viola Wills, Benny Diggs, Mary Carewe , Gloria Jones, Mortonette Jenkins, Marlena Jeter, Bonnie Bramlett, Rosetta Hightower, Brenda Holloway, Carmen Twillie (background vocals); Adrian Belew, Steve Lukather (guitar); Jerry Goodman (violin); Greg Phillinganes (synthesizer); Jeff Porcaro, Sly Dunbar (drums); Lenny Castro (percussion); Cissy Houston (background vocals); The Crusaders.
Audio Mixers: Chris Lord-Alge; Daniel Lazerus; Marc DeSisto; Rik Pekkonen; Tony Visconti; Bob Clearmountain.
Audio Remixers: Chris Lord-Alge; Glyn Johns.
Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA (09/1968-??/1977); Ardent Studios, Memphis, TN (09/1968-??/1977); Capitol Studios B (09/1968-??/1977); Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas (09/1968-??/1977); Criteria Recording Studios, Miami, FL (09/1968-??/1977); Dynamic Sounds, Kingston, Jamaica (09/1968-??/1977); Fillmore East, New York, NY (09/1968-??/1977); Henson Studios, Los Angeles, CA (09/1968-??/1977); Image Recording, Los Angeles, CA (09/1968-??/1977); Island Studios, London, England (09/1968-??/1977); Metropolis, London, England (09/1968-??/1977); Muscle Shoals Studios, Muscle Shoals, Sheffield, AL (09/1968-??/1977); Oasis Recording Studios, Universal City, CA (09/1968-??/1977); Ocean Way Recording, Hollywood, CA (09/1968-??/1977); Olympic Studios, London, England (09/1968-??/1977); Power Station, NY (09/1968-??/1977); Record Plant (09/1968-??/1977); Royaltone Studios (09/1968-??/1977); Rumbo Recorders, Canoga Park, CA (09/1968-??/1977); Soundworks Digital Audio-Video, NY (09/1968-??/1977); Sunset Sound Studios (09/1968-??/1977); The Treehouse (09/1968-??/1977); The Village recorder, West Los Angeles, CA (09/1968-??/1977); Trident Studios, London, England (09/1968-??/1977).
Photographers: Gered Mankowitz; Jim McCrary; Michael Putland; Barry Feinstein; Henry Diltz.
Arrangers: Jim Price ; Chris Stainton; Leon Russell; Richard Tee; Uptown Horns; C.J. Vancston.
Hip-O's double-disc Joe Cocker set Gold unites the tracks on 2004's single-disc Ultimate Collection with 16 favorites that had been left off that package due to space restrictions. With that situation corrected, these original recordings span the singer's 30-plus years by not only including all the obvious favorites from his A&M days ("Feelin' Alright," "Delta Lady," "The Letter," etc.) but important overlooked hits of that era like "Put Out the Light," "High Time We Went," and "Midnight Rider." His later work on MCA, Island, Capitol, and Sony is also documented thoroughly with the inclusion of his number one 1992 duet with Jennifer Warnes, "Up Where We Belong," and the tastefully selected cover versions Cocker recorded in the 1990s of songs by Ray Charles, Elton John, Lovin Spoonful, and Randy Newman among others. Anyone looking for a comprehensive collection of Cocker's best recordings should pick this up. ~ Al Campbell

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498798485
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)