The Move Looking On (2-CD)

Q (Magazine): 3 stars out of 5 -- "[Y]ou get heavy riffs between Black Sabbath and Cream, and a proggy liking for time changes."
Get email alerts for The Move
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  6AFGE
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 6, 2016
  • Originally Released: 1970
  • Label: Esoteric Recordings

Description by

igitally remastered and expanded two CD edition of the British band's 1970 album. Of all of the groups to emerge in Britain in the latter half of the 1960s, The Move was arguably one of the finest. A powerful act on stage, the group were blessed with one of the most imaginative songwriters of his generation in Roy Wood. Of all the Move albums, Looking On is arguably the most experimental and progressive in its structure. The departure of vocalist Carl Wayne in early 1970 and the arrival of Jeff Lynne in the ranks (from the acclaimed Idle Race) saw The Move take flight in previously unimagined ways. Lynne's compositional skills perfectly complimented Roy Wood's with his expansive track 'What?', whilst Wood excelled himself on the album's title track and 'Feel Too Good', along with the singles 'Brontosaurus' and 'When Alice Comes Back to the Farm'. Newly remastered, this Deluxe edition of Looking On has also been expanded to include 14 bonus tracks encompassing the single B-side 'Lightnin' Never Strikes Twice', alternate mixes, and seven tracks and two interviews recorded for the BBC in 1970, all of which appear on CD for the first time. This expanded deluxe edition also includes a lavishly illustrated booklet that fully restores the original album artwork and features a new essay by Mark Paytress and also includes a poster.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Looking On
  • 2.Turkish Tram Conductor Blues
  • 3.What?
  • 4.When Alice Comes Back To The Farm
  • 5.Open Up Said The World At The Door
  • 6.Brontosaurus
  • 7.Feel Too Good
  • 8.Lightnin' Never Strikes Twice

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Duke of Edinburgh's Lettuce
  • 2.Looking On (Part One - Take 3 / Part Two - Take 12)
  • 3.Brontosaurus (Mono Us Radio Promo Edit)
  • 4.Turkish Tram Conductor Blues (Take 5 - Rough Mix)
  • 5.She's a Woman [BBC Sessions 23rd March 1970]
  • 6.Bev Bevan Interview [BBC Sessions 23rd March 1970]
  • 7.Brontosaurus [BBC Sessions 23rd March 1970]
  • 8.Falling Forever [BBC Sessions 23rd March 1970]
  • 9.Lightnin' Never Strikes Twice [BBC Sessions 23rd March 1970]
  • 10.Looking On [BBC Sessions 28th July 1970]
  • 11.When Alice Comes Back To The Farm [BBC Sessions 28th July 1970]
  • 12.Bev Bevan & Roy Wood Interview [BBC Sessions 28th July 1970]
  • 13.She's a Woman [BBC Sessions 28th July 1970]

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929464742
  • Shipping Weight: 0.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)