COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Special EFX Collection

Get email alerts for Special EFX
MASSIVE CD SALE: $18.10 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $0.88 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
12 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  72D5A
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 14, 2020
  • Originally Released: 2020
  • Label: Trippin & Rhythm


  • 1.Mr. Marzipan
  • 2.Sunset Passion Juice
  • 3.Hanky Panky Boys
  • 4.Little Wing
  • 5.Empathy
  • 6.Two Dancing
  • 7.Arise
  • 8.Wake Up
  • 9.Sweet Memories of You
  • 10.Kampala
  • 11.Great Escape, Pt. 1
  • 12.Great Escape, Pt. 2
  • 13.Flows Like Water
  • 14.One Stick and a Stone

Product Description:

Special EFX: Chieli Minucci (electric guitars, synthesizer), George Jinda (percussion).
Additional personnel: Mark Ledford, Eric Troyer (vocals), Kenny Werner (piano, synthesizer), Steve Robbins, Szakcsi (piano), Alan Smallwood (keyboards, synthesizer), Steve Skinner (keyboards, programming), Michael Bearden (synthesizer, flute, piano), Robbie Kondor (synthesizer), Mark Egan, Gerald Veasley, Vince Loving (bass) Fernando Saunders (bass, vocals), Dave Weckl, Lionel Cordew, Omar Hakim, J.T. Lewis (drums), Paul Wickliffe (programming).
Recorded at Skyline Studios, New York.
All songs written or co-written by members of Special EFX except "Quiet Beauty" (Fernando Saunders).
Audio Mixers: Dave Darlington; Paul Wickliffe.
Recording information: Baci Studios, NYC; Charlestown Road Studios, Hampton, NJ; Double D Studios, NYC.
Arranger: Chieli Minucci.
Starting in the mid-'80s, guitarist Chieli Minucci and percussionist George Jinda co-led Special EFX, an unclassifiable group who combined together aspects of fusion, world music, rock, and pop in their own unique sound. Special EFX was a fixture on the GRP label during 1985-1993. This CD has 15 selections drawn from eight of their GRP sets and features the co-leaders (who take "Udu Voodoo" as a duo) joined by up to five other musicians, including several keyboardists, bassist Mark Egan, and drummer Dave Weckl. The melodic music (which often has electric keyboards as the lead along with Chielli's guitars) is full of complex pop rhythms, catchy themes, passionate solos, and subtle surprises. Although certainly not for jazz purists, Special EFX has their own interesting appeal and this sampler CD acts as an excellent introduction to their unusual and accessible music. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 020286230298
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)