COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Portishead Roseland Nyc Live [import]

Spin: "...explores the virtues of seeing truly elegant wallpaper in concert..."
Get email alerts for Portishead
124 ratings
Price: $41
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 5-8 days
Format:  Vinyl LP  (2 Records)
sku:  6AS74
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 2
  • Released: April 3, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Music On Vinyl

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 12/98, p.179
"...explores the virtues of seeing truly elegant wallpaper in concert..."
Entertainment Weekly - 11/27/98, p.84
"...With a 30-piece horn and string section, the group pumps up its cloistered fretting to an epic scale here. Chanteuse Beth Gibbons is downright fierce, while Adrian Utley's gnashing guitar pushes her love laments deep into Fatal Attraction territory..."
- Rating: A-
Muzik - 12/98, p.68
4 stars out of 5 - "...takes their shadowy operation to the next level....Stumble over this way and tune in to the ecstacy of the agony."


  • 1.Humming
  • 2.Cowboys
  • 3.All Mine
  • 4.Mysterons
  • 5.Only You
  • 6.Half Day Closing
  • 7.Over
  • 8.Glory Box
  • 9.Sour Times
  • 10.Roads
  • 11.Strangers

Product Description:

Portishead: Beth Gibbons (vocals); Adrian Utley (guitar, Moog synthesizer); Geoff Barrow (drums, DJ).
Additional personnel includes: Israel Chorberg, Richard Clark (violin); Alfred Brown(viola); Stephanie Susie Katayama (cello); Ben Waghorn (alto flute, alto & tenor saxophones); Will Gregory (oboe, baritone saxophone); Dave Ford, Andy Hague (trumpet, flugelhorn); John Cornick (trombone); John Baggott (keyboards); Jim Barr, Jeffry Carney, David Finck, John Miller (bass); Clive Deamer (drums, percussion); Andy Smith (DJ).
Engineers: Dave Hewitt, Sean McClintock, Phil Gitomer.
Recorded live at Roseland Ballroom, New York, New York on July 24, 1997; The Quart Festival, Kristiansand, Denmark on July 3, 1998; The Warfield Theatre, San Francisco, California on April 1, 1998.
PNYC captures Bristol, England's Portishead live, a situation which presents a particular challenge to a band so closely associated with studio experimentation. Portishead's sound, however, is built around the otherworldly vocals of Beth Gibbons, who immediately dispels any notion that such a performance needs to have anything canned about it. The spontaneity is helped along by a stunning palette of guitars, which combine with the the band's imaginative turntable work to create a thrilling, bombastic and unpredictable live experience.
PNYC opens up with the swell of a string section, and quickly dissolves into the menacing, orchestrated strains of "Humming," over which Gibbons gives a stirring vocal performance, every bit as spontaneous as the rhythmic scratching which weaves in and out of the song's organ-based backdrop. "Over" features a particularly seductive voice-guitar intro, which mutates into an epic, gargantuan bass-synth groove. Guitar textures are, in fact, a prominent feature throughout PNYC, notably on the rocked-up, tremolo-soaked six-string that dominates the live version of the band's signature tune, "Sour Times."
Vinyl LPs
Vinyl from Music On Vinyl

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 102,962
  • UPC: 600753369968
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)