The Chieftains An Irish Evening

Spin: Highly Recommended - "...pure rock and reel....touches upon the sacred and the profane..."
Get email alerts for The Chieftains
15 ratings
Price: $5
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $1.98 (28% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  AXQC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 28, 1992
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/5/92, p.72
3.5 Stars - Very Good - "...[The Chieftains] continually find new ways to prove how much Irish music has in common with other traditions....captures the irresistable spirit of a Chieftains concert..."
Spin - 4/92, p.97
Highly Recommended - "...pure rock and reel....touches upon the sacred and the profane..."
Uncut - 8/02, p.100
3 out of 5 - "...The Chieftains are a treasure and every home should have at least one of their albums..."


  • 1.D¢chas / King of Laois / Paddy's Jig / O'Keefes: Chattering Magpie
  • 2.North America
  • 3.Lilly Bolero/the White Cockade
  • 4.Little Love Affairs
  • 5.Red is the Rose
  • 6.The Mason's Apron
  • 7.The Stone
  • 8.Theme From Tristan and Isolde / Suisin Ban / Good Morning Nightcap/the Galway Races/the Jolly Tinker
  • 9.Raglan Road
  • 10.Behind Blue Eyes
  • 11.O Murch£'s Hornpipe / Sliabh Geal Gcua Na F,lie/the Wandering Minstrel
  • 12.Damhsa
  • 13.Rachamid a Bhean Bheag: Ford Econoline / Any Old Iron

Product Description:

The Chieftains: Kevin Conneff (vocals, Bodhran); Martin Fay, Sean Keane (fiddle); Derek Bell (harp, Tiompan, keyboards); Matt Molloy (flute); Paddy Moloney (Uilleann pipes, tin whistle).
Additional personnel includes: Nanci Griffith, Roger Daltrey (vocals).
Recorded live at the Grand Opera House, Belfast, Ireland on July 31 & August 1, 1991. Includes liner notes by Paddy Moloney.
This 1991 live concert featuring The Chieftains with Roger Daltrey and Nancy Griffith is one of the most spirited of all Chieftains releases. Daltrey and Griffith both sound inspired, despite the fact that, as Griffith points out in an interview, they didn't get a sound check due to a bomb scare.
Highlights include Nanci Griffith's dainty "Little Love Affairs," and the C&W "Ford Econoline." In the band's the Irish repertoire "O Murchu's Hornpipe," "Dochas," and others are all performed splendidly. However, rock fans will best like the revamped version of the Who classic, "Behind Blue Eyes," a version that will move even the most skeptical of listeners. Traversing traditional Irish music, rock, C&W, and even ragtime, AN IRISH EVENING has a little bit of something for just about everyone.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,200
  • UPC: 886976952327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)