Utopia Todd Rundgren's Utopia

Mojo (Publisher): "...an all-consuming monolith of techno-rock virtuosity and excess undeservedly maligned in its time..."
Todd Rundgren's Utopia
Get email alerts for Utopia
35 ratings
SALE: $4.98 + $1 additional shipping
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $10.01 (67% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  WZLP 271
on most orders of $75+
Overstock / Closeout
(Warehouse Remainder)
"WZ" coded vinyl LPs are in new and never-played condition, but are warehouse remainders. Most are sealed, however many have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, prior sale stickers and/or minor shelf wear. If you are not 100% satisfied with your purchase, our 30-Day Return Policy would apply.

Vinyl LP Details

  • Originally Released: 1974
  • Label: Rhino Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 10/99, p.131
"...an all-consuming monolith of techno-rock virtuosity and excess undeservedly maligned in its time..."


  • 1.Libertine [Dance Mix]
  • 2.Bad Little Actress
  • 3.Feet Don't Fail Me Now
  • 4.Neck on Up
  • 5.Say Yeah
  • 6.Call It What You Will
  • 7.I'm Looking at You But I'm Talking to Myself
  • 8.Hammer in My Heart
  • 9.Burn Three Times
  • 10.There Goes My Inspiration
  • 11.Princess of the Universe
  • 12.Infrared and Ultraviolent
  • 13.Forgotten But Not Gone
  • 14.Private Heaven
  • 15.Chapter and Verse
  • 16.Hammer in My Heart [Mix]

Product Description:

This is Utopia's 1 1/2 record set, originally released on the Network label, complete on 1 CD.
Utopia: Todd Rundgren (vocals, guitar); Roger Powell (vocals, keyboards); Kasim Sulton (vocals, bass); John Wilcox (vocals, drums).
Utopia followed Swing to the Right, their first album for Elektra subsidiary Network, a mere six months after, dubbing the new album Utopia. Presumably, an eponymous release signaled a new beginning for the group, which is true to a certain extent. Utopia finally became a true collective here, with each member's contributions sounding remarkably similar, in performance and composition. Very few tunes bear an unmistakable Rundgren stamp, and even when they do, it's been processed into a signature Utopia sound -- the first time they could truly be said to have a sound of their own. Strangely, this happens on an album where the group makes a self-conscious effort to sound contemporary, dressing in new wave gear for the cover shoot while molding the music after synthesized new wave pop. Granted, that quirkiness masks a fairly traditional set of Utopia arena pop, yet these songs wind up as the most consistent album in the group's catalog -- which is saying a lot, considering that the album spreads over three sides. Utopia rarely sags in momentum, and even the weaker songs aren't far removed from the stronger material, highlighted by "Bad Little Actress," "Hammer in My Heart," "Princess of the Universe," and the excellent single "Feet Don't Fail Me Now." They had their moments before, but Utopia is where the band finally made a thoroughly enjoyable record; too bad they couldn't extend it through their final two records. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Vinyl LPs
Vinyl LP Bargain Bin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 7,927
  • UPC: 081227086510
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)