The Band Music from Big Pink (50th Anniversary)

Rolling Stone: Ranked #34 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...An instant homespun classic..."
Get email alerts for The Band
TOP 100 Bestseller
Price: $19.50
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 14-21 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  6Q6HA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 31, 2018
  • Originally Released: 1968
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
4.5 stars out of 5 -- "It's one of the most welcoming albums in the history of rock - a shaggy-dog story about love, death and American sin that reels you in from the opening line."
Rolling Stone - 8/31/00, pp.69-73
5 stars out of 5 - "...[One] of rock's few perfect albums, [an] immaculate reflection of [its] times [with] master fictions told with the spit and color of a fur trapper's memoirs...the bonus tracks are sweet gravy..."
Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.108
Ranked #34 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...An instant homespun classic..."
Rolling Stone - 8/10/68, p.21
.MUSIC FROM BIG PINK is an event and should be treated as one...This album was recorded in approximately two weeks...There are people who will work their lives away in vain and not touch it. - Al Kooper
Entertainment Weekly - 9/1/00, p.81
"...[One] of the best albums in rock history....These remasterings sound incredibly rich, and each has alternate takes....this is reissuing done right." - Rating: A
Q - 10/00, p.139
5 stars out of 5 - "...Almost anonymously shifted the boundaries for what rock might aspire to's still a collection to rake the breath away..."
Q - 8/99, p.136
4 stars (out of 5) - "1968 melange...laced with staggeringly affecting singing....For lovers of Deserter's Songs, the album and the things."
Uncut - 9/01, p.108
"...Austere yet fascinating, enduringly impressive both as an aesthetic manifesto and a wonderfully understated display of controlled artistry, MUSIC FROM BIG PINK remains a landmark recording which no serious collector can be without..."
Down Beat - 10/01, p.66
4.5 stars out of 5 - "...Invoking the experience of working-class folks through music and words...[this] overflowed with distinctive singing and musicianship..."
No Depression - 9-10/00, pp.102-3
"...Brilliant....enhancing one's admiration for [their] achievements..."
5 Stars - Excellent
Mojo (Publisher) - 10/00, p.126
"...In its mixture of the mundane and the weird, of traditional and avant-garde gestures, BIG PINK retains all of that original transfixing magic..."
Pitchfork (Website) - "Beyond its myth or this questionable new remix, the debut album from the Band made roots music sound as impressionistic and idiosyncratic as any other kind of rock'n'roll. It was revolutionary."


  • 1.Tears of Rage [Remixed 2018]
  • 2.To Kingdom Come [Remixed 2018]
  • 3.In a Station [Remixed 2018]
  • 4.Caledonia Mission [Remixed 2018]
  • 5.The Weight [Remixed 2018]
  • 6.We Can Talk [Remixed 2018]
  • 7.Long Black Veil [Remixed 2018]
  • 8.Chest Fever [Remixed 2018]
  • 9.Lonesome Suzie [Remixed 2018]
  • 10.This Wheel's on Fire [Remixed 2018]
  • 11.I Shall Be Released [Remixed 2018]
  • 12.Yazoo Street Scandal [Outtake]
  • 13.Tears of Rage [Alternate Take]
  • 14.Long Distance Operator [Outtake]
  • 15.Lonesome Suzie [Alternate Take]
  • 16.Key to the Highway [Outtake]
  • 17.I Shall Be Released [Acapella]

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 78
  • UPC: 602567480617
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Friday Before Memorial Day: Closed
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)