Rank And File The Slash Years *

Get email alerts for Rank And File
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.70 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.28 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  38982
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 1, 2022
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Wounded Bird Records


  • 1.Amanda Ruth
  • 2.(Glad I'm) Not In Love
  • 3.Rank and File
  • 4.The Conductor Wore Black
  • 5.Sundown
  • 6.I Went Walking
  • 7.Lucky Day
  • 8.I Don't Go Out Much Anymore
  • 9.Coyote
  • 10.Long Gone Dead
  • 11.I'm an Old, Old Man
  • 12.Sound of the Rain
  • 13.Hot Wind
  • 14.Tell Her I Love Her
  • 15.Saddest Girl In the World
  • 16.Timeless Love
  • 17.John Brown
  • 18.Last Night I Dreamed
  • 19.It Doesn't Matter
  • 20.Klansman
  • 21.Post Office
  • 22.Wabash Cannonball
  • 23.White Lightnin'

Product Description:

Personnel: Chip Kinman (vocals, guitar, harmonica, 6-string bass); Alejandro Escovedo (vocals, guitar); Tony Kinman (vocals); Jeff Ross (guitar); Peter Grant (slide guitar, banjo, autoharp); Richard Greene (fiddle); Stan Lynch (drums, percussion); Slim Evans (drums); Bill Meyers (wind).
Recording information: Automatt Studios, San Francisco, CA (01/1984); Ocean Way Recording, Los Angeles, CA (01/1984); Automatt Studios, San Francisco, CA (06/1982); Ocean Way Recording, Los Angeles, CA (06/1982).
Illustrator: Sam Yeates.
Photographer: Bill Daniels .
Years before the alt-country scene exploded with the release of Uncle Tupelo's first album, Rank and File were a band of punk rock veterans who embraced the sound and feel of classic country music, but with a stripped-down sound and a lyrical stance that embraced leftist politics and a jaundiced eye toward the hipster music scene. Led by Chip and Tony Kinman of the fabled L.A. punk band the Dils and featuring Alejandro Escovedo before he founded the roots rock band the True Believers and went on to a celebrated solo career, Rank and File recorded two fine albums for the celebrated Los Angeles indie label Slash Records, and The Slash Years includes both of them in their entirety: 1982's lean and two-stepping debut Sundown and 1984's more polished and atmospheric Long Gone Dead -- in addition, the set features four rare non-LP tracks as a bonus. While this features nothing from the band's self-titled 1987 swan song for Rhino Records, it's a thorough collection of the group's best and most celebrated work, and three decades later this music is still smart, high-spirited, and thoroughly engaging; fans of classic country or roots rock will eat this up. ~ Mark Deming

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 664140383326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)