Gary U.S. Bonds Dance 'Til Quarter to Three (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Gary U.S. Bonds
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $30.99
You Save: $17.01 (55% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  ZJAS 741
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: February 4, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Jasmine Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Quarter To Three
  • 2.A Trip To the Moon
  • 3.Cecilia
  • 4.That's All Right
  • 5.I Know Why Dreamers Cry
  • 6.Minnie the Moocher
  • 7.New Orleans
  • 8.One Million Tears
  • 9.Not Me
  • 10.Please Forgive Me
  • 11.School is Out
  • 12.Don't Go To Strangers
  • 13.Dear Lady Twist
  • 14.Naughty Little Flea
  • 15.Stop the Music
  • 16.Mama Look a Booboo
  • 17.Scratch Scratch Me Back
  • 18.Food of Love
  • 19.Twist Twist Senora
  • 20.Man Smart, Woman Smarter
  • 21.Give Me One More Chance
  • 22.Coconut Woman
  • 23.Cordelia Brown
  • 24.Day-O

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Not Me
  • 2.Time Ole Story
  • 3.School is In
  • 4.Havin' So Much Fun
  • 5.Seven Day Weekend
  • 6.Getting a Groove
  • 7.Copy Cat
  • 8.I'll Change That Too
  • 9.Mixed Up Faculty
  • 10.I Dig This Station
  • 11.Do the Limbo With Me
  • 12.Where Did the Naughty Little Girl Go
  • 13.Tiger Rock
  • 14.A Night With Daddy G, Pt. 1
  • 15.A Night With Daddy G, Pt. 2
  • 16.Thinking of You
  • 17.Autumn Leaves
  • 18.Fallen Arches
  • 19.Everybody's Happy
  • 20.Church Street Walk
  • 21.Daddy G Rides Again
  • 22.Hey Now
  • 23.Sing a Song Children
  • 24.Quarter To Three Waltz
  • 25.New Orleans Waltz

Product Description:

Personnel: Gary "U.S." Bonds (vocals).
Bonds' debut album was a typical LP for the era: a few hits ("Quarter to Three," "New Orleans," "School Is Out") surrounded by tunes not far removed from the style of the singles, but not nearly as memorable. At least this one was mostly comprised of original material, written by producer Frank Guida, Bonds, and saxophonist Gene Barge, with a few others pitching in. The calypso and Caribbean beats that found their way into several Bonds singles crop up with some frequency; "Please Forgive Me," "Don't Go to Strangers," and "I Know Why Dreamers Cry" are doo wop/R&B ballads in a more traditional vein than Bonds' usual approach; and "Not Me" would be covered for a hit by the Orlons in 1963. The album was reissued, together with Bonds' second LP (1962's Twist Up Calypso), on a single-CD compilation by Ace in 1998, although this CD substitutes the original version of "Please Forgive Me" (the B-side of "New Orleans") for the one that was re-recorded for the LP. ~ Richie Unterberger
Jasmine Records Import CD Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 89,063
  • UPC: 604988074123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)