COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!


Get email alerts for S U R V I V E
MASSIVE CD SALE: $15.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.59 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  6GH24
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 19, 2018
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Holodeck Records


  • 1.Deserted Skies
  • 2.Floating Cube
  • 3.To Light Alone I Bow
  • 4.Hourglass
  • 5.Omniverse
  • 6.Black Mollies
  • 7.Scalar Wave
  • 8.Shunting Yard
  • 9.Dirge

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Michael Stein .
Recording information: Omniverse Studios.
Several years before two of its members wrote the Emmy-winning music for the hit sci-fi/horror series Stranger Things, S U R V I V E were constructing walls of analog synthesizers on stages in various dive bars and venues throughout Austin, delivering their faithful yet still highly original updates of John Carpenter and Fabio Frizzi film scores. Following two cassettes, a 7" single, and a 10" EP, the quartet made their full-length debut in 2012 with this album, which has been referred to as either an eponymous release or by its catalog numbers (MNQ026 on Italian label Mannequin or HD015 on Austin's Holodeck). Already by this point, the group were adept at creating dark, suspenseful atmospheres, and while their later work would sound a bit more refined, the lo-fi grittiness works to the music's advantage. The album's tracks alternate between rippling dark ambient pieces and more rhythmic ones, including highlights such as "Floating Cube" and "Hourglass," which inject subtle elements of '90s IDM and electro into their intense horror-scapes. These tracks demonstrate S U R V I V E's dynamics as a band, with chugging arpeggios and expertly paced beats complemented by the soaring guitar-like lead synths. No lyrics are present, but "Shunting Yard" features a wash of vocoders, and other tracks seem to have subliminal whispers. S U R V I V E's debut established them as a powerful force in the world of retro-futuristic, cinematic electronic music, and things would only get bigger (and stranger) from there. ~ Paul Simpson

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 131,941
  • UPC: 616892454540
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)