COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

The Fall Dragnet (3-CD)

Q: 4 stars out of 5 - "DRAGNET is Mark E Smith and chums in willfully difficult but imaginatively fertile form..."
Get email alerts for The Fall
MASSIVE CD SALE: $33.30 Limited Time Only
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 5-8 days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  6V4VY
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: May 31, 2019
  • Originally Released: 1979
  • Label: Cherry Red UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 4/04, p.131
4 stars out of 5 - "DRAGNET is Mark E Smith and chums in willfully difficult but imaginatively fertile form..."
Q - 4/04, p.131
4 stars out of 5 - "DRAGNET is Mark E Smith and chums in willfully difficult but imaginatively fertile form..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 1/03, p.106
"...This is music that punches and scratches, with tales of wartime psychics and exorcisms told over speedy, primitive post-punk..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Psykick Dancehall
  • 2.A Figure Walks
  • 3.Printhead
  • 4.Dice Man
  • 5.Before The Moon Falls
  • 6.Your Heart Out
  • 7.Muzorewi's Daughter
  • 8.Flat Of Angles
  • 9.Choc-Stock
  • 10.Spectre Vs. Rector
  • 11.Put Away
  • 12.Rowche Rumble
  • 13.In My Area
  • 14.Fiery Jack
  • 15.2nd Dark Age
  • 16.Psykick Dancehall No.2
  • 17.Rowche Rumble [Take 2]
  • 18.Rowche Rumble [Take 3]
  • 19.Rowche Rumble [Take 4]
  • 20.Rowche Rumble [Take 5]
  • 21.In My Area [Take 1]
  • 22.In My Area [Take 2]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Psykick Dancehall [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 2.Rowche Rumble [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 3.Flat Of Angles [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 4.2nd Dark Age [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 5.Rebellious Jukebox [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 6.Muzorewi's Daughter [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 7.In My Area [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 8.Choc Stock [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 9.Printhead [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 10.A Figure Walks [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 11.Fiery Jack [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 12.No Xmas For John Quays [Live in Retford 1979]
  • 13.Psycho Mafia [Live in Retford 1979]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Psykick Dancehall [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 2.Rowche Rumble [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 3.Flat Of Angles [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 4.Rebellious Jukebox [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 5.Various Times [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 6.Stepping Out [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 7.Your Heart Out [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 8.Dice Man [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 9.Spectre Vs Rector [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 10.Choc Stock [Live in Los Angeles 1979]
  • 11.Muzorewi's Daughter [Live in Los Angeles 1979]

Product Description:

Includes bonus tracks.
The Fall: Mark E. Smith, Marc Riley (vocals, guitar); Craig Scanlon (guitar); Steve Hanley (bass); Mike Leigh (drums).
Recorded at Cargo Studios, Rochdale, England in August 1979.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Audio Remasterer: Andy Pearce.
The Fall's second album, released the same year as their debut (1979), refines its predecessor's somewhat embryonic approach, simplifying the sonic attack and achieving greater concision and sense of purpose. Mark E. Smith's lyrical themes are a bit darker, but still juggle post-punk sociopolitical commentary with dense, imagistic wordplay. Perhaps most importantly, DRAGNET marks the arrival of guitarist Craig Scanlon and bassist Steve Hanley, who would prove crucial to the band's progression over the next few years. Scanlon and Marc Riley's scrappy, lo-fi guitar din is appropriately discordant and repetitive, emphasizing the bleak societal framework from which the album emerged.
The song structures are pared down to basic, almost primal extremes, making for a more instant communication of intent, with Smith's disgruntled observations delivered over purposefully primitive, occasionally martial bashing. DRAGNET provides the template from which the Fall would continue to fashion its trademark sound over their next couple of releases. The 2004 reissue also appends a wealth of bonus tracks for the Fall completist.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
TV Shows:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929107601
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)