Roger & Zapp All the Greatest Hits

61 ratings
Price: $11.80
You Save: $0.18 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  HV39
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 16, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Rhino


  • 1.More Bounce to the Ounce - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 2.Be Alright - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 3.I Heard It Through the Grapevine - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 4.So Ruff, So Tuff - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 5.Do It Roger - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 6.Dance Floor - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 7.Doo WA Ditty (Blow That Thing) - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 8.I Can Make You Dance - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 9.Heartbreaker (Part 1, Part 2) - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 10.In the Mix - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 11.Midnight Hour-Live '93 - (remix, with Roger Troutman)
  • 12.Computer Love - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 13.Night and Day '93 - (remix, with Roger Troutman)
  • 14.I Want to Be Your Man - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 15.Curiosity '93 - (remix, with Roger Troutman)
  • 16.Slow and Easy - (with Roger Troutman)
  • 17.Mega Medley: More Bounce To the Ounce / Do It Roger / Heartbreaker (Part 1, Part 2) / Playin' Kinda Ruff / So Ruff, So Tuff / Dancefloor / I Can Make You Dance / Doo Wa Ditty (Blow That Thing) / I Heard It Through the Grapevine - (with Roger Troutman

Product Description:

Zapp: Roger Troutman (vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, voice box); Zapp Troutman (vibraphone, background vocals); Lester Troutman (drums, drum programming); Larry Troutman (percussion).
Additional personnel includes: Greg Jackson (vocals, keyboards); The Mighty Clouds Of Joy, Shirley Murdock, Bobby Glover (vocals); Carl Cowen (flute, horns); Clarence Satchell (saxophone); Jerome Derrickson, Eddie Barber, Larry Hatcher (horns); Dale DeGroat (keyboards, drum programming, background vocals); Billy Beck (keyboards, background vocals); Robert "Rumba" Jones (percussion); Robert Smith (drum programming, background vocals); Bootsy Collins, Shelly Smith, Delores Smith, Dick Smith, LeRoy "Sugarfoot" Bonner, Janetta Boyce, Gary "Mudbone" Cooper, Malia Franklin (background vocals).
Producers: Roger Troutman, Zapp Troutman, Bootsy Collins.
Engineers include: Greg Ward, Jim Vitti, Mike Iacopelli.
Principally recorded at United Sound Systems and Sound Room East, Detroit, Michigan.
This 17-track compilation contains three certifiable R&B classics: the funk anthem "More Bounce To The Ounce," the trendsetting "Computer Love," and one of the finest singles of the '80s, Roger Troutman's solo smash "I Want To Be Your Man." The last is an achingly soulful and slow groove accented with the best use of the Vocoder (a device that changes the pitch of a voice without altering its tempo) in pop music history.
Vocoder effects appear throughout GREATEST HITS. They may have seemed gimmicky in less imaginative hands, but Troutman was also an inventive and creative producer and songwriter. Sadly, Troutman was murdered in 1999 by his brother Larry, a former member of Zapp. This exceptional compilation is a tribute to Roger's talents and a perfect introduction to Zapp and Roger.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,044
  • UPC: 081227996178
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)