Howlin' Wolf Memphis Days: The Definitive Edition, Volume 1

Get email alerts for Howlin' Wolf
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  V949
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 1, 1989
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Bear Family Germany

Description by

Hailed by fans and critics as one of the greatest blues CDs ever issued, this set is the first installment of Wolf's incredible Chess and Memphis Recording Service sides made between 1951 and 1952. The blues doesn't get any rawer or more powerful than this! A total of 21 sides. First generation tapes were used for the first time and the sound is a revelation. Beyond essential!


  • 1.Oh Red (Take 1)
  • 2.My Last Affair (Take 1)
  • 3.Come Back Home (Take 1)
  • 4.California Boogie
  • 5.California Blues
  • 6.Look-a-here Baby
  • 7.Smile At Me
  • 8.My Baby Walked Off
  • 9.Drinkin' CV Wine (Cv Wine Blues)
  • 10.My Troubles And Me
  • 11.Chocolate Drop
  • 12.Mr. Highway Man (Cadillac Daddy)
  • 13.Bluebird Blues
  • 14.Color And Kind
  • 15.(everybody's) In The Mood
  • 16.Dorothy Mae (# 2)
  • 17.I Got A Woman/Sweet Woman
  • 18.Decoration Day Blues
  • 19.(well) That's All Right
  • 20.How Many More Years
  • 21.Baby Ride With Me

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 111,320
  • UPC: 4000127154606
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Friday Before Memorial Day: Closed
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)