The Who Who's Next [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Rolling Stone: Ranked #28 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...An extraordinary cache of songs..."
Who's Next [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
Get email alerts for The Who
602 ratings
Price: $36.70
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  HEGW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 25, 2003
  • Originally Released: 1971
  • Label: MCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.104
Ranked #28 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...An extraordinary cache of songs..."
Rolling Stone - 9/2/71, p.42
"...intelligently-conceived, superbly-performed, brilliantly produced, and sometimes even exciting rock'n'roll..."
Rolling Stone - 9/30/71, p.42
"...what they have given up in rawness and razzle-dazzle they have gained in depth of vision and musical maturity. Every cut on the album has something to offer..."
Q - 1/03, p.62
Included in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums Ever"
Q - 1/96, p.158
4 Stars - Excellent - "Considered by many to be the band's best, 1971's WHO'S NEXT was their only Number 1 album..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 5/03, p.110
4 stars out of 5 - "WHO'S NEXT is The Who's most polished album, its hook-ridden songs pioneering the use of rock synthesizers without diluting the power-quartet attack that had defined the group since the mid-60s..."
NME (Magazine) - 9/18/93, p.19
Ranked #21 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of The '70s.'
NME (Magazine) - 10/2/93, p.29
Ranked #99 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Baba O'Riley
  • 2.Bargain
  • 3.Love Ain't for Keeping
  • 4.My Wife
  • 5.The Song is Over
  • 6.Getting in Tune
  • 7.Going Mobile
  • 8.Behind Blue Eyes
  • 9.Won't Get Fooled Again
  • 10.Baby Don't You Do It
  • 11.Getting in Tune - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Pure and Easy
  • 13.Love Ain't for Keeping
  • 14.Behind Blue Eyes
  • 15.Won't Get Fooled Again - (previously unreleased)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Love Ain't for Keeping - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.Pure and Easy - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.Young Man Blues - (previously unreleased)
  • 4.Time is Passing - (previously unreleased)
  • 5.Behind Blue Eyes - (previously unreleased)
  • 6.I Don't Even Know Myself - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Too Much of Anything - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Getting in Tune - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Bargain - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.Water
  • 11.My Generation - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.(I'm A) Road Runner - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Naked Eye
  • 14.Won't Get Fooled Again - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

The Who: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, piano, organ, ARP synthesizer); John Entwistle (vocals, brass, piano, bass); Keith Moon (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Leslie West (guitar); Dave Arbus (violin); Nicky Hopkins (piano); Al Kooper (organ).
Producers: The Who, Kit Lambert, Keith Moon.
Reissue producer: Jon Astley.
Includes liner notes by Pete Townshend and John Atkins.
The Who: Roger Daltrey (vocals); Pete Townshend (guitar, piano, organ, ARP synthesizer, background vocals); John Entwistle (horns, piano, bass, background vocals); Keith Moon (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Leslie West (guitar); Nicky Hopkins (piano).
Producers: The Who, Glyn Johns, Kit Lambert.
Recorded between 1968 & 1971. Includes liner notes by Pete Townshend, John Atkins, and Chris Charlesworth.
Personnel: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, piano, ARP synthesizer); John Entwistle (vocals, brass, piano); Roger Daltrey (vocals); Dave Arbus (violin); Nicky Hopkins (piano); Keith Moon (drums, percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Jon Astley.
Audio Remixers: Jon Astley; Andy MacPherson.
Liner Note Authors: Chris Charlesworth; John Atkins; Pete Townshend; Andy Neill.
Recording information: Olympic (03/17/1971-06/??/1971); Record Plant, NY (03/17/1971-06/??/1971); Stargroves (03/17/1971-06/??/1971); Young Vic Theatre, South London (03/17/1971-06/??/1971).
Photographers: Ethan Russell; Chris Walter; Graham Hughes; Barry Plummer; Chris Morphet.
Though Pete Townshend was originally unhappy with WHO'S NEXT, it was quickly welcomed by critics and fans, becoming one of the most celebrated titles in their enduring catalog. His frustrations boiled down to the album being a compromised version of a larger work he'd envisioned, LIFEHOUSE, which proved too unwieldy to be realized. Expanded to a two-disc set with essays by both Townshend and John Atkins, the original nine-song album is expanded with six additional studio tracks.
These include earlier versions of the album's songs and a cover of Holland-Dozier-Holland's "Baby Don't You Do It." Recorded in New York during the spring of 1971 in the midst of a fraying relationship with producer Kit Lambert, the early cuts clearly don't have the sonic breadth and wallop of what the Who achieved back in England later in the year, but are fascinating nonetheless. The second disc was recorded live before an invited audience, and was originally part of the album's grand plan. Mixing new material with covers ("Road Runner;" Mose Allison's "Young Man Blues") and original tunes from their past (the anthem "My Generation"), the band plays with a palpable urgency and fire. This was the Who at the peak of its powers, a status the group would retain as a live act through the '70s.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 25,066
  • UPC: 008811305628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.36/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)