The Move Magnetic Waves of Sound: The Best of the Move (CD + DVD)

Get email alerts for The Move
Price: $44.10
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 14-21 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  6DWCA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 27, 2017
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Esoteric

Description by

Two disc (CD + NTSC/Region 0 DVD) pressing. 2017 compilation from the iconic British band led by Roy Wood (and later featuring future ELO leader Jeff Lynne). Of all of the groups to emerge in Britain in the latter half of the 1960s, The Move was arguably one of the finest. A powerful act on stage, the group were blessed with one of the most imaginative songwriters of his generation in Roy Wood. Magnetic Waves Of Sound features all of The Move's UK hit singles, along with key album tracks from their four studio albums. The accompanying hour long DVD in this collection is a true first, and features 21 appearances on BBC TV and German television and a promotional film, all shot between 1967 and 1970. These include a performance of 'Fire Brigade' on Top of the Pops from February 1968 and the band's entire Colour Me Pop performance for BBC 2 from January 1969. Also featured is a rare promotional film of 'I Can Hear the Grass Grow', a trio of songs performed live from the German TV show Beat, Beat, Beat (recorded in June 1967) and a fine selection of Move appearances on the German TV show Beat Club, all gathered together on DVD officially for the first time. Magnetic Waves of Sound is a fitting celebration of the legacy of The Move and includes a lavishly illustrated booklet and features a new essay by Mark Paytress and also includes a poster.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Night of Fear
  • 2.I Can Hear the Grass Grow
  • 3.Wave the Flag and Stop the Train
  • 4.Kilroy Was Here
  • 5.(Here We Go Round) The Lemon Tree
  • 6.Walk Upon the Water
  • 7.Flowers in the Rain
  • 8.Fire Brigade
  • 9.Wild Tiger Woman
  • 10.Blackberry Way
  • 11.Curly
  • 12.Hello Susie
  • 13.Cherry Blossom Clinic Revisited
  • 14.Brontosaurus
  • 15.When Alice Comes Back to the Farm
  • 16.What?
  • 17.Ella James
  • 18.Tonight
  • 19.China Town
  • 20.California Man
  • 21.Do Ya?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Can Hear the Grass Grow
  • 2.Night of Fear
  • 3.Walk Upon the Water
  • 4.I Can Hear the Grass Grow
  • 5.Fire Brigade
  • 6.I Can Hear the Grass Grow
  • 7.Beautiful Daughter
  • 8.Christian Life
  • 9.Flowers in the Rain
  • 10.The Last Thing on My Mind
  • 11.Wild Tiger Woman
  • 12.Goin' Back
  • 13.Fire Brigade
  • 14.Something
  • 15.Blackberry Way
  • 16.Fire Brigade
  • 17.Wild Tiger Woman
  • 18.Blackberry Way
  • 19.Curly
  • 20.Brontosaurus
  • 21.When Alex Comes Back to the Farm

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,855
  • UPC: 5013929465442
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)